BOE Recognizes Student Achievement

During the Jan. 9 community meeting of the Carle Place School District Board of Education, students and alumni were recognized for their outstanding creative and academic efforts.

The evening began with the presentation of the 2013-2014 Reflections Awards to Cherry Lane students by the board and parent coordinator Nicole Servinskas, who commended the 18 finalists on their submissions in the categories of written composition and visual arts.

“One of our goals is to provide our children with the most rewarding educational experience possible,” said Board President Barry Dennis. “We endeavor to do this starting in Cherry Lane Elementary School and throughout students’ entire journey here in Carle Place.”

The National PTA arts-in-education program Reflections encourages students to explore their talents and express themselves through the creation of original works in the fine and performing arts. This year’s theme, “Believe, Dream, Inspire,” produced drawings, poems and more from Carle Place students in grades K-2.

Next, Carle Place High School Principal Thomas DePaola, along with the members of the board, presented certificates of achievement to district students who attained the title of AP Scholar (a student who completes three or more AP examinations with grades of 3 or higher), AP Scholar with Honor (a student who earns an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP examinations taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams), and AP Scholar with Distinction (a student who earns an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP examinations taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams).

“The Advanced Placement program marks the pinnacle of success in our high school,” said DePaola. “We offer many of these level courses in science, history, mathematics, English, psychology, foreign language and more.”

Student honorees included current high school seniors as well as college freshmen who completed AP-level courses at Carle Place High School during the 2012-2013 academic year.